Christian Ronaldo crowned World best player

2 weeks ago

Real Madrid and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the world’s best player at the FIFA awards ceremony in Zurich.

Ronaldo won the gong ahead of Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Atletico madrid striker Antoine Griezmann.

Ronaldo adds the FIFA award to the 2016 Ballond’or he had earlier won to cap a remarkable year which saw him win the Spanish league and Champions league with Madrid and the Euro Championship with Portugal.

Image result for Cristiano Ronaldo crowned World best player

American Carli Lloyd won the best Women’s player award while Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri picked up the FIFA coach of the year award.

The FIFA fair play award went to Colombian club – Atletico Nacional for requesting that the Copa Sudamericana title be awarded to Chapecoense after the Brazilian team perished in a plane crashed enroute the final match.

The FIFA best 11 players are Manuel Neuer, Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta, Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez and Cristiano Ronaldo.

READ ALSO:  Barcelona's Luis Suarez pleased with suspension after yellow card against Sevilla

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »
Menu Title